February 18, 2016

Cloning

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , at 10:56 pm by vrtrakowski

I’m thinking of porting more of my stories from FF.net to AO3–not removing them from FF.net by any means, but AO3 is more user-friendly and I’ve had people ask in the past for a way to get multi-chapter stories all at once.  54 on AO3 versus 208 (good grief!) on FF.net–I’m not counting that last Advent trainwreck because I didn’t put those on FF.net.  But I don’t know as I’d move all of ‘em; some never got read as far as I know, and there’s a few I’d prefer to ignore (the first effort in any fandom can be embarrassing).

The trouble is what to choose–and how to do it.  AO3 has an import feature but FF.net won’t work for it, which means I’d have to do all 40 chapters of HttM, for instance, one at a time.  Now, it is a good opportunity to fix the little errors that do creep in, but it’s going to take time and fiddling, and I’m six months behind on my Website, and trying to write, and, and.

Maybe I can just do them very slowly.  It’ll confuse anyone following me on AO3, though.  And is it even worth it to do all that CSI stuff?  As far as I know, GSR was pretty much fading by the time AO3 really got off the ground.  I don’t think there’s much of a presence there.

Leave a Reply

