February 23, 2009

Such a small thing

Posted in Uncategorized at 11:07 pm by vrtrakowski

I have a number of magnets on my refrigerator.  Mostly they go unused; occasionally I notice them enough to use one to hold up a recipe.

Tonight I realized that over half are gifts.  Aside from the three from family, I have presents from at least four people.

I haven’t talked to any of those four people in years.

And yet, the thought of taking the magnets down feels like a betrayal.  There’s no reason why it should; all things come to an end (what squeak, mouse?) and it’s not like I need them.  Some of them fit me; some don’t.  And now that I’m aware, seeing them will be a touch of sorrow every time.

Who will notice?  Who will care?

Should I care?  I just don’t know.

Leave a Reply

